Why You Should Join Code-impact Dev Community

Akol Sharon Norah
4 min readJan 30, 2021

Getting involved in a community is one of the greatest decisions I have made in my career path. To be honest, if there’s something I wish I knew in my first year of campus, it is a tech community and how to get involved. Well, today we shall talk about CIDEVCommunity.

My story

I wrote my first line of code in my year1 at the campus and I wrote it in C Programming language. I didn’t know what I was doing and why I was even doing it, nothing made sense to me. As time went on, I developed a hatred for every programming course unit. I almost felt like giving up on my Computer Science course, but thank Goodness, I eventually got to know about communities and I joined. In my second year of campus, I learned about Pyladies Kampala Community and I joined them. They introduced me to Python programming and I was amazed because Python was much easier as compared to C. This was an eye-opener to my capabilities.

After campus, I saw an advert for a Coding Bootcamp which I gladly applied. I wanted to give it another shot and this time, I didn't look back. I attended OutboxEDU Coding Bootcamp and my passion for programming increased every day. During this boot camp, I met Mr Shyaka Alex Nkusi, who was one of my facilitators at the Bootcamp and he is the founder of the Code-impact Dev Community. Since then, he has been my Mentor till now.

“Community is much more than belonging to something; it is about doing something together that makes belonging matter” — Brian Solis

Why Code-impact DevCommunity?

Code-Impact Learning community is an online community aimed at empowering and nurturing young people that are passionate and excited about technology with technical, leadership and soft skills that will expose them to possibilities of becoming world-class software developers and technology leaders on the African continent and beyond. This is why you should join and get involved in CIDEV Community.

Freecodecamp Curriculum

As a community, we decided to leverage the freecodecamp curriculum as we find it more engaging and well structured for the purpose of learning. We encourage our members to do all the freecodecamp challenges and projects so as to attain their certificates. As I write some of the members including me have already got their first freecodecamp certifications. checkout my certificate. Freecodecamp has an awesome community of developers that we can learn from. Through their blogs and youtube channel, we’re able to get solutions to a number of challenges we face in our learning process.

Community Meetups

At Code -impact, we hold weekly online meetups where we interact with the community members. We have a skill-up session during this meetups and we always do a Kahoot challenge regarding the skillset for the day. Our members find it very interesting and interactive. The challenge encourages us to revise what we have been learning throughout the week.

Facilitators

Code-impact has an amazing team of facilitators led by Mr Shyaka Alex who has a passion for helping us become successful Software Engineers. All the facilitators are passionate about learning and sharing knowledge, as they say, the best way to learn is to teach that’s exactly what we do, we learn more as we teach our members.

Skill Sessions

This is one of the essential things at Code-impact because we do not only learn code but also learn soft skills, During these sessions, members learn Technical writing, communication skills, technical leadership skills and so on. Learners ask a lot of questions regarding the Software Engineering career aside from code.

Chat Groups

As an online community, we have chat groups where we keep in touch with our members before we hold the next meetup. We share learning resources, inspirational content, in the chat groups so as to encourage our members to keep moving. We have a Discord server and a Whatsapp group.

The Blog

Code-impact Dev Community has a blog that members can rely on, we share knowledge through this blog and our members find it very useful. We also write solutions to the code challenges they might be facing during their learning process.

NewsLetter

As a tech community, we love to keep our members updated with the latest technologies. Every week, we send a newsletter to our members to wrap up the week and also share tech news with them. This enables us not only to keep up with the trend in tech but also keep our audience engaged.

Conclusion

Getting involved in the community is something I won't regret and I am proud to be part of Code-impact. If you aren’t already an active member of a community, I invite you to join the Code-impact Dev Community and develop a habit of giving back through the community. Share your knowledge and let others learn from you as you also learn from them.

If you have read till here, great thanks to you, fill this form to join the community. Kindly follow Code-impact on Facebook, Twitter and Linkedin and also follow Mr Shyaka.

--

--